ABBA: Gracias Por La Música 1980 (Spanish) 1CD & 1DVD-New $49.99


ABBA: Gracias Por La Música 1980 (Spanish) 1CD & 1DVD-New Made In UK.

2 in stock


ABBA – Gracias Por La Música

ABBA  are a Swedish pop group formed in Stockholm in 1972 by Agnetha Fältskog, Björn Ulvaeus, Benny Andersson, and Anni-Frid Lyngstad. The group’s name is an acronym of the first letters of their first names arranged in a chiastic pattern. Widely considered one of the greatest musical groups of all time,  they became one of the most commercially successful acts in the history of popular music, topping the charts worldwide from 1974 to 1983. They have achieved 48 hit singles.

Gracias Por La Música is a Spanish-language album by Swedish pop group ABBA, released in Spain on 5 April 1980 and Latin America on May 10. Gracias Por La Música was originally released due to the unexpected surge in popularity for the group in Latin American countries such as Mexico and Argentina after the release of the Spanish-language versions of “Chiquitita” and “I Have a Dream” in 1979. These tracks were both released as singles and went on to become big hits. Encouraged by this success, the band therefore decided to record another eight tracks in Spanish and release a full-length album especially for the Latin American market. The album was also released on ABBA’s native Sweden on June 23, and in Japan on July 21 after ABBA played eleven successful concerts earlier in March.

The album’s title is the Spanish translation of the title of one of ABBA’s hits, “Thank You for the Music”. The couple Buddy and Mary McCluskey, both working at RCA Records in Argentina at the time, were again called in to translate the lyrics. During the recording sessions which took place in January 1980 in the Polar Music studios the lead vocalists Agnetha Fältskog and Anni-Frid Lyngstad were helped with the pronunciation by Swedish/Spanish journalist Ana Martinez.

Video: Abba – Gracias Por La Música 1980

Disc 01:  CD:

  • 1.  Gracias por la música – Thank You For The Music –
  • 2.  Reina danzante – Dancing Queen –
  • 3.  Al andar – Move On –
  • 4.  ¡Dame! ¡Dame! ¡Dame! – Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight) –
  • 5.  Fernando
  • 6.  Estoy soñando – I Have A Dream –
  • 7.  Mamma mía
  • 8.  Hasta mañana
  • 9.  Conociéndome, conociéndote – Knowing Me, Knowing You –
  • 10. Chiquitita

Bonus tracks

  • 11.  Ring ring
  • 12.  Andante, andante
  • 13.  Felicidad – Happy New Year –
  • 14.  No hay a quien culpar – When All Is Said And Done –
  • 15.  Se me está escapando – Slipping Through My Fingers –

Disc 02, DVD:

  • 1. Chiquitita (300 millones, TVE)
  • 2. Chiquitita (Aplauso, TVE)
  • 3. Estoy soñando (promo clip)
  • 4. ABBA On Spanish TV (Especial Aplauso 100, TVE)


    • Conociéndome, conociéndote (promo clip)
    • Gracias por la música (promo clip)
    • ¡Dame! ¡Dame! ¡Dame!
  • 5. Felicidad (promo clip)
  • 6. No hay a quien culpar (promo clip)
  • 7. International Sleeve Gallery.


Additional information

Weight 9 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in