Art Garfunkel: Lefty 1988 CD-New $52.99


2 in stock

Categories: , , ,


Art Garfunkel Lefty 1988

Art Garfunkel‘s first regular studio album in nearly seven years was a pleasant enough exercise that did nothing to arrest his commercial or artistic decline. The idea of covering “I Have a Love” from West Side Story was a good one, the obligatory ’50s cover, “So Much in Love,” was well performed, and “Love Is the Only Chain” was a good piece of material, even if better performed by authors Pam Rose and Mary Ann Kennedy (who joined Garfunkel on this recording). The version of “When a Man Loves a Woman,” so far away from Percy Sledge‘s emotional original, served to illustrate Garfunkel‘s detached approach to his material. But much of the album consisted of second-rate songs, frequently written by Stephen Bishop.

The liner notes of the album contain a brief prose text Garfunkel had written in memory of his partner Laurie Bird who had committed suicide in 1979. The album marked a new beginning in Garfunkel’s professional life after becoming somewhat of a recluse following the tragedy.

Tracking List:

  1. “This Is the Moment” (David Foster, Cynthia Weil, Linda Jenner, Ray Parker, Jr.) – 4:31
  2. “I Have a Love” (Stephen Sondheim, Leonard Bernstein) – 4:28
  3. So Much in Love” (George Williams, Bill Jackson, Roy Straigis) – 2:24
  4. “Slow Breakup” (Stephen Bishop) – 3:46
  5. “Love Is the Only Chain” (Mary Ann Kennedy, Pam Rose, Pat Bunch) – 4:07
  6. When a Man Loves a Woman” (Calvin Lewis, Andrew Wright) – 4:30
  7. “I Wonder Why” (Bill Lovelady, Marita Phillips, Peter Skellern) – 3:22
  8. “King of Tonga” (Bishop) – 3:27
  9. “If Love Takes You Away” (Bishop) – 3:47
  10. “The Promise” (Nick Holmes) – 3:57


Video: Art Garfunkel “Slow Breakup” 1988

Additional information

Weight 5 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in