Antônio Carlos Jobim: Compact Jazz 1990 CD-Condition Like New $26.99


Condition: 1CD Used LikeNew For Collectors, One of the first CD Compilations of Jobim’s Music 1960-1970 Remastered 1990 Verve Records Made In France.

2 in stock

SKU: 42284327329 Categories: , , , , ,


Antônio Carlos Jobim

Antônio Carlos Brasileiro de Almeida Jobim, also known as Tom Jobim, was a Brazilian composer, pianist, songwriter, arranger and singer. Widely considered as one of the great exponents of Brazilian music, Jobim is the artist who internationalized bossa nova and, with the help of important American artists, merged it with jazz to standardize in the 1960s a new sound whose popular success was very remarkable. 

One of the first CD compilations of Jobim’s music, yet it doesn’t scrimp on the time too much (nearly an hour) and it hits mostly all the right marks. The selection varies between Jobim’s versions of his compositions (taken mostly from the 1963 The Composer of Desafinado Plays album), the Stan Getz versions that brought them to America’s attention, and the 1974 sessions that resulted in Elias and Tom. Featured vocalists are, of course, Astrud Gilberto, Elis Regina, and Jobim himself. There have been better versions of some of these songs, while some are classics, but the package gives a fine overview for beginners.

 Video: Ao Vivo em Montreal – Samba de uma nota só


1 The Girl From Ipanema 5:22
2 Triste 2:39
3 Desafinado 2:44
4 Luiza 2:31
5 Insensatez (How Insensitive) 2:31
6 Samba De Uma Nota So (One Note Samba) 2:15
7 Corcovado (Quiet Nights) 3:53
8 Favela (O Morro Nao Tem Vez) 3:21
9 Agua De Beber 2:18
10 O Grande Amor 5:26
11 Vivo Sohando (Dreamer) 2:36
12 Chovendo Na Roseira (Double Rainbow) 3:10
13 Amor En Paz (Once I Loved) 3:35
14 Dindi 2:41
15 Chega De Saudade (No More Blues) 4:18
16 Aguas De Marco (Waters Of March) 3:32

Additional information

Weight 6 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in


, , , ,


, , ,



product ID



Compact Jazz : Antônio Carlos Jobim