Elis Regina and Antônio Carlos Jobim 1974 Remastered 2008 CD-New $32.99


1 in stock


Elis & Tom 1974

Is a Bossa Nova album, released in 1974, recorded by Brazilian singer Elis Regina and singer-songwriter Antônio Carlos Jobim,

Recorded over a 16-day period at MGM Studios in Los Angeles, California, the album was an old wish of Regina, who always wanted to record a full album of Jobim’s songs with him. This finally came true in 1974, when Elis was celebrating her 10th anniversary as an artist of Philips Records. The label approved the project as a gift for her.

The Allmusic review by Thom Jurek awards the album 4.5 stars and states that “This beautiful — and now legendary — recording date between iconic Brazilian vocalist Elis Regina and composer, conductor, and arranger Tom Jobim is widely regarded as one of the greatest Brazilian pop recordings.”

It was ranked 11th on Rolling Stones Top 100 Brazilian albums of all time. The album was inducted into the Latin Grammy Hall of Fame in 2007. On September 2012 it was voted by the audience of Radio Eldorado FM, of Estadao.com and of Caderno C2+Música (both the latter belong to newspaper O Estado de S. Paulo) as the fourth-best Brazilian album ever.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Aguas De Marco
  2. Pois E
  3. So Tinha De Ser Com Voce
  4. Modinha
  5. Triste
  6. Corcovado
  7. O Que Tinha De Ser
  8. Retrato Em Branco E Preto
  9. Brigas Nunca Mais
  10. Por Toda a Minha Vida
  11. Fotografia
  12. Soneto Da Separacao
  13. Chovendo Na Roseira
  14. Inutil Paisagem

Additional information

Weight 5 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in