Elton John – Greatest Hits 1970-2002 Limited Edtion 3CDs New $54.99


1 in stock

Categories: ,


Elton John 

Greatest Hits 1970–2002 is a career-spanning collection of Elton John’s biggest hits up to 2002. It was released in an alternate 3-CD version (as opposed to the usual 2-CD) and slightly different versions in the United States and the United Kingdom.

The album debuted on the Billboard 200 chart at number 12 on 30 November 2002. It spent 67 weeks on the chart. It was certified gold and platinum in December 2002, 2× platinum in March 2003, 3× platinum in August 2004 and 4x and 5x platinum in February 2011 and 6× platinum in April 2016 by the RIAA.

It was the first Elton John compilation released since the time that PolyGram, which had controlled the pre-1976 Elton John catalogue, was sold to Universal Music Group, which controlled the post-1976 recordings. Prior to 1992, rights to John’s music had been complicated as they shifted between various companies. UMG now owns worldwide distribution rights to all of John’s music, while sharing overall ownership with John himself.

The CD omits the #1 Adult Contemporary hit “Mama Can’t Buy You Love” from The Thom Bell Sessions (top 10 in 1979).

In 2004 the album was re-released and featured the 2003 UK number 1 hit “Are You Ready for Love” as the final track on the second disc, replacing “Song for Guy”.

The album is currently out of print. In 2017, John released the compilation album Diamonds which has been described as an updated version of Greatest Hits 1970-2002.

American release
Disc 1
1. “Your Song” Elton John
2. “Levon” Madman Across the Water
3. “Tiny Dancer” Madman Across the Water
4. “Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going to Be a Long, Long Time)” Honky Château
5. “Honky Cat” Honky Château
6. “Crocodile Rock” Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player
7. “Daniel” Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player
8. “Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting” Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
9. “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road” Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
10. “Candle in the Wind” Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
11. “Bennie and the Jets” Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
12. “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” Caribou
13. “The Bitch Is Back” Caribou
14. “Philadelphia Freedom” (Edited version) Non-album single
15. “Someone Saved My Life Tonight” Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy
16. “Island Girl” Rock of the Westies
17. “Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word” Blue Moves
Disc 2
1. “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart” (with Kiki Dee) Non-album single
2. “Little Jeannie” (John, Osborne) 21 at 33
3. “I’m Still Standing” Too Low for Zero
4. “I Guess That’s Why They Call It the Blues” (John, Taupin, Johnstone) Too Low for Zero
5. “Sad Songs (Say So Much)” Breaking Hearts
6. “I Don’t Wanna Go on with You Like That” Reg Strikes Back
7. “Nikita” Ice on Fire
8. “Sacrifice” Sleeping with the Past
9. “The One” The One
10. “Can You Feel the Love Tonight?” (music by John, lyrics by Rice) The Lion King soundtrack
11. “Circle of Life” The Lion King soundtrack
12. “Believe” Made in England
13. “Blessed” Made in England
14. “Something About the Way You Look Tonight” The Big Picture
15. “Written in the Stars” (with LeAnn Rimes) (Rice) Elton John and Tim Rice’s Aida
16. “I Want Love” Songs from the West Coast
17. “This Train Don’t Stop There Anymore” Songs from the West Coast
Bonus disc version
1. “Candle in the Wind” (live) 4:02
2. “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” (live) (with George Michael) 5:49
3. “Live Like Horses” (live) (with Luciano Pavarotti) 5:08
4. “Your Song” (live) (with Alessandro Safina) 4:19

Video: Elton John – I’m Still Standing 1983

Additional information

Weight 6 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in