Gal Costa: Gal Costa 1969 (Remastered) CD-New $52.99


2 in stock


Gal Costa is the first solo album by the Brazilian singer Gal Costa, released in 1969. It was ranked the 80th best Brazilian album of all time by the Brazilian Rolling Stone magazine.

A lot changed between Gal Costa’s pleasantly straightforward 1967 debut Domingo and her eponymous follow-up two years later. Domingo, also a debut for young Brazilian songwriter Caetano Veloso, featured a set of airy, somewhat standard bossa nova tunes, sung ably by Costa. Mere months after the release of this relatively safe debut, however, Costa and Veloso found themselves alongside Os Mutantes, Tom Zé, and Gilberto Gil, recording contributions to Tropicália: Ou Panis et Circencis, the unofficial manifesto of the Tropicalismo movement. The compilation dove headfirst into avant-garde experimentalism, embracing the psychedelic tendencies happening in American underground circles, and the politically charged energy of radical dissent to Brazil’s ongoing military dictatorship. This wild new hybrid of Brazilian pop and far-reaching outside influences resulted in something instantly miles away from everything that came before it, and Costa’s self-titled Tropicalismo debut is no exception. The album begins with a flutter of psychedelic echo effects, dissolving into gloriously lush string arrangements and lighthearted organ on “Nao Identificado,” a brilliant opening track that introduces Costa’s velvety voice, gently at first, as if to ease the listener into the new sounds about to be revealed. Softly glowing chamber pop arrangements like “Lost in Paradise” melt into unchained grooves and buzzing fuzz guitar bug-outs like the Gilberto Gil-aided “Namorinho de Portão” and the child-like singsonginess of “Divino Maravilhoso.” The echo-heavy productions, patient strings, and gorgeously floating melody of “Baby” drive the album to its brilliant summit, offering a perfect articulation of the pensive, sexy, strange, and above all else, sunny blur that Tropicalismo was, even in its very beginnings.

Video: Gal Costa – “Saudosismo” “Não Identificado” (1969)


1. “Não Identificado” Caetano Veloso 3:12
2. “Sebastiana” Featuring Gilberto Gil Rosil Cavalcanti 2:23
3. “Lost in the Paradise” Caetano Veloso 2:52
4. “Namorinho de Portão” Featuring Gilberto Gil Tom Zé 2:34
5. “Saudosismo” Caetano Veloso 3:10
6. “Se Você Pensa” Roberto Carlos, Erasmo Carlos 3:15
7. “Vou Recomeçar” Roberto Carlos, Erasmo Carlos 3:25
8. “Divino, Maravilhoso” Caetano Veloso, Gilberto Gil 4:13
9. “Que Pena (Ele Já Não Gosta Mais de Mim)” FeaturingCaetano Veloso Jorge Ben 3:33
10. “Baby” FeaturingCaetano Veloso Caetano Veloso 3:33
11. “A Coisa Mais Linda Que Existe” Gilberto Gil, Torquato Neto 4:00
12. “Deus é o Amor” Jorge Ben 3:05


  • GAL COSTA – vocals
  • Jards Anet da Silva [aka Jards Macalé] – acoustic guitar
  • Alexander Gordin – electric guitar & bass guitar
  • Rodolpho Grani Júnior – bass
  • Diogenes Burani Filho, Eduardo Portes de Souza – drums
  • Guest vocals: Caetano Veloso & Gilberto Gil

Recorded in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 1968

Additional information

Weight 6 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in