Brazil: Original Soundtrack 1985 Music By Michael Kamen CD-Condition Like New



1CD Almost New For Collectors, Brazil: Original Soundtrack 1985 Milan Records Made In USA.

3 in stock

SKU: Brazil1984 Categories: , , ,


Brazil Soundtrack

In an Orwellian vision of the future, the populace are completely controlled by the state, but technology remains almost as it was in the 1970’s. Sam Lowry is a civil servant who one day spots a mistake in one of the pieces of paperwork passing through his office. The mistake leads to the arrest of an entirely innocent man, and although Lowry attempts to correct the error, it just gets bigger and bigger, sucking him in with it.

The soundtrack to Brazil would probably be better known if more Kate Bush fans heard her rendition of the “title song,” such as it is, as the second track of the album. The song, drawn from the 1943 movie The Gang’s All Here, is only a tiny part of the sound collage that makes up most of the CD, a mix of spoken word quotes from the movie interspersed with instrumental music, some in period style and some bold, expressive orchestral pieces, all written by Michael Kamen. From a purely musical standpoint, it’s neither fish nor fowl and, given the availability of the complete film (and its many variant cuts) on DVD, it was inevitable that the soundtrack would be little more than a footnote for most fans. Still, the variations on the title tune, the presence of Kate Bush on vocals, and some of the better orchestral passages make it worth a close listen or two (or three). The sound is excellent, and there’s even some decent annotation, which is unusual for a contemporary soundtrack.

Brazil Trailer 1985

1. Central Services/The Office [1:41]
2. Sam Lowry’s 1st Dream – Kate Bush/Brazil – Kate Bush [2:10]
3. Ducts [0:42]
4. Waiting For Daddy/Sam Lowry’s Wetter Dream (The Monoliths Erupt) [3:00]
5. Truck Drive [1:15]
6. The Restaurant (You’ve Got To Say The Number) [1:34]
7. Mr. Helpmann [1:14]
8. The Elevator [0:45]
9. Jill Brazil/Power Station [2:07]
10. The Party (Part 1)/Plastic Surgery [1:03]
11. Ducting Dream [1:53]
12. Brazil [3:26]
13. Days And Nights In Kyoto: The Party (Part 2) [1:18]
14. The Morning After [1:46]
15. Escape? [1:03]
16. The Battle [4:30]
17. Harry Tuttle (A Man Consumed By Paperwork) [1:50]
18. Mothers Funeral/Forces Of Darkness [1:44]
19. Escape! No Escape! [2:26]
20. Bachianos Brazil Samba [2:51]

Additional information

Weight 6 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in







product ID





, ,