The Fabulous Baker Boys-Original Music Soundtrack by Dave Grusin 1989 CD-Used Like New $32.99


1 in stock

Categories: , , ,


For one of Dave Grusin’s most jazz-oriented film scores, the music used in The Fabulous Baker Boys(and included on this CD) has fairly straight-ahead originals played by a sextet (plus strings) that includes Grusin‘s keyboards, tenor saxophonist Ernie Watts and guitarist Lee Ritenour. In addition, Mercer Ellington put together a big band to perform “Do Nothin’ Till You Hear from Me,” the Earl Palmer Trio plays “Lullaby of Birdland,” and a 1936 recording of the Benny Goodman Quartetperforming “Moonglow” is utilized. But the real surprise of the movie (and the CD) is that actress Michelle Pfeiffer does a credible job singing “Makin’ Whoopee” and “My Funny Valentine.”

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1.   Main Title From ‘The Fabulous Baker Boys’
  2.   Welcome To The Road
  3.   Makin’ Whoopee – Michelle Pfeiffer
  4.   Suzie & Jack
  5.   Shop Till You Bop
  6.   Soft On Me
  7.    Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me – The Duke Ellington Orchestra
  8.   The Moment Of Truth
  9.  Moonglow – Benny Goodman Quartet
  10. Lullaby Of Birdland – The Earl Palmer Trio
  11. My Funny Valentine – Michelle Pfeiffer

Additional information

Weight 5 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in