Prince & The Revolution-Original Soundtrack “Purple Rain” 1982 Audio MINI LP Remastered 2015 Deluxe 2CDs New $29.99


2 in stock

Categories: , , ,


Prince-Purple Rain 1982

One of the greatest crossover albums of the 80s – and the record that catapulted Prince very firmly into the mainstream! There’s a tightness here that surpasses even that of Prince’s early classics for Warner Brothers – an unabashed love of a pop hook that makes for some incredibly catchy tunes that are still delivered with a nice funky undercurrent. The whole Prince family is at the top of their game at this point – and titles include “Darling Nikki”, “Let’s Go Crazy”, “I Would Die 4 U”, “When Doves Cry”, “Baby I’m A Star”, and “Purple Rain”. This fantastic 2CD version features a completely new 2015 Paisley Park remaster of the album, done by Prince – plus a full CD that features unreleased songs and tracks from the vaults – with titles that include “Katrina’s Paper Dolls”, “We Can F**k”, “Father’s Song”, “Possessed”, “Computer Blue (hallway speech version)”, “Love & Sex”, “The Dance Electric”, “Our Destiny/Roadhouse Garden”, “Wonderful Ass”, “Velvet Kitty Cat”, and “Electric Intercourse (studio version)”.  

* Produced, Arranged, Composed & Performed by Prince & The Revolution

“The Beautiful Ones,” “When Doves Cry” & “Darling Nikki” produced, arranged, composed and performed by Prince.

All words and music by Prince except “Computer Blue” written by John L. Nelson, Lisa, Wendy and Prince.

All songs published by Controversy Music ASCAP

Lisa Coleman: Keyboards and Voice
Wendy: Guitars and Voice
Bobby Z.: Percussion
Brown Mark: Bass and Voice
Matt Fink: Keyboards and Voice

“Let’s Go Crazy” & “Computer Blue” were recorded at The Warehouse in the summer of ‘83 by David Leonard & Susan Rogers.

“Take Me With U,” The Beautiful Ones” & “When Doves Cry” were recorded at Sunset Sound by Peggy Mac & David Leonard. All overdubs as well.

“I Would Die 4 U,” Baby I’m A Star,” “Purple Rain” recorded live at 1st Avenue in the summer of ‘83 by David Rivkin, David Leonard & Record Plant, New York.

“Darling Nikki” was recorded at a place very close 2 where u live.

Strings on “Take Me With U,” “Baby I’m A Star,” & “Purple Rain” by:
David Coleman – cello
Novi Novog – violin & viola
Suzie Katayama – cello
Arranged by Lisa & Prince.
Conducted by Lisa & Wendy.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Let’s Go Crazy (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
  2. Take Me With U (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
  3. The Beautiful Ones (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
  4. Computer Blue (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
  5. Darling Nikki (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
  6. When Doves Cry (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
  7. I Would Die 4 U (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
  8. Baby I’m a Star (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
  9. Purple Rain (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)


Disc: 2

  1. The Dance Electric
  2. Love and Sex
  3. Computer Blue (“Hallway Speech” Version)
  4. Electric Intercourse (Studio Version)
  5. Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden
  6. Possessed
  7. Wonderful Ass
  8. Velvet Kitty Cat
  9. Katrina’s Paper Dolls
  10. We Can Fuck
  11. Father’s Song

Additional information

Weight 6 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in