The site is currently closed for maintenance and will be back in February 2022 with all of your favorite collector vinyls and CD's!

Yvonne Elliman: Two Original Classic 70’s Album CD-New 44.99


Categories: , , , ,


Yvonne Marianne Elliman Two Original Classic 70’s Album

Yvonne Marianne Elliman (born December 29, 1951) is an American singer, songwriter, and actress who performed for four years in the first cast of the stage musical Jesus Christ Superstar. She scored a number of hits in the 1970s and achieved a US #1 hit with “If I Can’t Have You“; the song was also #9 on the Adult Contemporary chart. Her cover of Barbara Lewis‘s “Hello Stranger” went to #1 on the Adult Contemporary chart, and “Love Me” was also #5, giving her 3 top 10 singles. After a long hiatus in the 1980s and 1990s, during which time she dedicated herself to her family, she made a comeback album as a singer-songwriter in 2004.

Elliman was born and raised in the Manoa neighborhood of Honolulu, Hawaii; her mother was of Japanese ancestry and the background of her father—a salesman for Best Foods—was Irish. Elliman was musical from an early age, playing the ukulele by age four and taking piano lessons at age seven. While attending President Theodore Roosevelt High School, Elliman performed in the school band on standup bass and violin. However, Elliman became most proficient on the guitar and performed as a singer and guitarist in a folk music group named We Folk formed with some schoolmates. The group fared well in local talent shows. According to Elliman, she was truant during her senior year at Roosevelt but graduated owing to the intervention of the school’s British-born band teacher, who persuaded Elliman’s teachers to pass her, and encouraged Elliman herself, then 17, to relocate to London to pursue a musical career, which she did shortly after graduating.

Track List
[Disc 1]

  1. Baby Don’t Let It Mess Your Mind
  2. In a Stranger’s Arms
  3. I’ll Be Around
  4. Lady of the Silver Spoon
  5. Down the Backstairs of My Life
  6. If I Can’t Have You
  7. Prince of Fools
  8. Sally Go ‘Round the Roses
  9. Up to the Man in You
  10. Sailing Ships
  11. If I Can’t Have You (Disco Version)
  12. Moment By Moment

[Disc 2]

  1. Love Pains
  2. Savannah
  3. Cold Wind Across My Heart
  4. Greenlight
  5. Everything Must Change
  6. How Long
  7. Hit the Road Jack/Sticks and Stones
  8. Rock Me Slowly
  9. I’m Gonna Use What I Got to Get What I Need
  10. Nowhere to Hide
  11. Love Pains (12″ Single Version

Video: Yvonne Elliman – If I Can’t Have You (1977)

Additional information