Elton John-Sleeping With The Past 1989 CD-New $39.99


2 in stock

Categories: ,


Elton John-Sleeping With The Past 1989

The past Elton John has in mind is the era of soul music of the mid-1960s to the mid-1970s, and although all the songs are new, he recreates it well here. The album’s most notable selection is the ballad “Sacrifice,” which amazingly became his first-ever number one hit in the U.K.

Sleeping with the Past is the 22nd studio album by the English singer-songwriter Elton John, released on 29 April 1989. It is his best-selling album in Denmark (where it was recorded) and is dedicated to his longtime writing partner Bernie Taupin. The album features his first solo number-one single, “Sacrifice“, in his home country of the UK, which helped the album also hit number one there, his first since 1974’s Elton John’s Greatest Hits. John and Taupin meant for the songs to reflect the style of 1960s R&B icons such as Marvin Gaye, Otis Redding and Sam Cooke, whom they admired. It also became his first platinum album in the UK since 1983. In the US it was certified gold in October 1989 and platinum in April 1990 by the RIAA. Guy Babylon made his debut on this album and would continue to play keyboards with John for the next 20 years, while Fred Mandel left the band shortly after. John went into rehabilitation in 1990.

Track listing
1.  “Durban Deep” 5:32
2.  “Healing Hands” 4:23
3.  “Whispers” 5:28
4.  “Club at the End of the Street” 4:49
5.  “Sleeping with the Past” 4:58
6.  “Stone’s Throw from Hurtin'” 4:55
7.  “Sacrifice” 5:07
8.   “I Never Knew Her Name” 3:31
9.   “Amazes Me” 4:39
10. “Blue Avenue” 4:21
Total length: 47:43

Additional information

Weight 4 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in