Irene Cara: Anyone Can See 1982 (Remastered) CD-New $54.99


1 in stock


Anyone Can See is Irene Cara‘s debut album, released in 1982. This album followed up her successful hit singles “Out Here on My Own” and “Fame“. The album is solid R&B featuring such standout songs as “Reach Out I’ll Be There“, “Slow Down” and the power ballad title track among others.
Two years after scoring hits with “Fame” and “Out Here on My Own” (from the movie Fame), Cara finally released her debut album. Boasting strong R&B repertoire, reputable backing musicians, and solid production featuring her emotive, driving rendition of the Four Tops’ classic, “Reach out (I’ll Be There),” and the title track, a dynamic power ballad co-penned by Cara with the venerable Bruce Roberts. Her distinctive combination of subtlety and strength on these and other cuts is something of a cross between the raspy tones of Bonnie Tyler and the sensitivity of Deniece Williams. Furthermore, “Slow Down” demonstrates her potential as an R&B songwriter. A solid listen throughout, Anyone Can See is Cara in her prime.
Video: Irene Cara – Anyone Can See (Japan 1986)


  1. Reach Out I’ll Be There” (Holland–Dozier–Holland) – 4:27
  2. “My Baby (He’s Something Else)” (Irene Cara, Gordon Grody, Carlotta McKee) – 3:33
  3. “Anyone Can See” (Irene Cara, Bruce Roberts) – 3:42
  4. “Don’t Throw Your Love Away” (Cara, Gail Boggs, Josh Shneider) – 3:58
  5. “Slow Down” (Irene Cara) – 3:53
  6. “Whad’ya Want” (Irene Cara, Grody, McKee) – 3:35
  7. “You Hurt Me Once” (Alan Roy Scott, Ed Fox) – 3:39
  8. Thunder in My Heart” (Leo SayerTom Snow) – 3:39
  9. “Why” (Andy Goldmark, Jim Ryan) – 4:49
  10. “True Love” (Bill Seidman) – 3:46

Additional information

Weight 9 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in