Linda Ronstadt: Get Closer 1982 (James Taylor, Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris) Vinyl-New $58.99


Out of stock

Categories: , , , ,


Released in 1982, Get Closer is in many respects a classic Linda Ronstadt album. It contains the style of songs most associated with her, from pop ballads to country. The album took over a year to record and features musicians who had played with her for years (in Kenny Edwards‘ case, he had played bass with her since the Stone Poneys). The title track was nominated for a Best Rock Performance Female Grammy, and the album was nominated for Best Popular Performance Female. “It’s Gonna Work Out Fine” is a duet with James Taylor and a cover of the Ike & Tina Turner hit. Ronstadt also does a smooth cover of Billy Joe Royal‘s hit “I Knew You When.” Another standout track is her version of Jimmy Webb‘s ballad “Easy for You to Say,” which might even top the original.

Ronstadt was nominated in early 1983 for a Grammy Award for Best Pop Vocal Performance Female and Best Rock Vocal Performance Female for the album and the song “Get Closer”, losing to Melissa Manchester and Pat Benatar respectively. The album did, however, win the Grammy for Best Album Package, an art director’s award. The trophy went to well known designers Ron Larson and Kosh.

Video: Linda Ronstadt – “I Knew You When” (1982)


1. “Get Closer” Jon Carroll 2:29
2. The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress Jimmy Webb 3:03
3. I Knew You When Joe South 2:53
4. “Easy for You to Say” Jimmy Webb 4:03
5. “People Gonna Talk” William Wheeler, Lee Dorsey, Morris Levy, Clarence L. Lewis 2:38
6. “Talk to Me of Mendocino” Kate McGarrigle 2:57
7. I Think It’s Gonna Work Out Fine” (with James Taylor) Rose Marie McCoy, Sylvia McKinney 4:01
8. “Mr. Radio” Roderick Taylor 4:07
9. Lies Buddy Randell, Beau Charles 2:35
10. Tell Him Bert Berns 2:35
11. “Sometimes You Just Can’t Win” (with J. D. Souther) Smokey Stover 2:30
12. “My Blue Tears” (with Dolly Parton and Emmylou Harris) Dolly Parton 2:40



  • Brian Ahern – producer (Track 12)
  • George Massenburg – engineer (Tracks 1–11)
  • Val Garay – engineer (Tracks 1–11)
  • Stuart Taylor – engineer (Track 12)
  • Niko Bolas, Barbara Rooney and Bruce Wildstein – assistant engineers (Tracks 1–11)
  • Doug Sax – mastering engineer
  • Edd Kolakowski – piano and guitar technician
  • Aaron Rapoport – photography
  • John Kosh with Ron Larson – art direction and design
  • Gloria Boyce – album coordination

Additional information

Weight 14 oz
Dimensions 13 × 13 × 1 in