Melissa Manchester: Greatest Hits 1975–83 (Don’t Cry Out Loud) Vinyl-New $52.99


2 in stock


Melissa Manchester: Greatest Hits is the first compilation album released by American singer Melissa Manchester. It was issued by Arista Records in 1983, shortly after the release of Manchester’s biggest hit, the new wave top 10 hit “You Should Hear How She Talks About You“.

The compilation spans 10 songs, which cover the years 1975 to 1983, starting with Manchester’s first single (and first top 10 hit) “Midnight Blue“, from her third album Melissa up to two new songs recorded specifically for this record: “Nice Girls” and a medley of two 60’s covers: “My Boyfriend’s Back” and “Runaway“, both produced by Arif Mardin, who had produced Manchester’s previous record Hey Ricky.

While the compilation includes her three Billboard top 10 singles, “Midnight Blue“, “Don’t Cry Out Loud” and “You Should Hear How She Talks About You“, it is fairly incomplete, as it only includes three more songs that became hits for her in the USA, including the Academy Award-nominated 1979 song “Through the Eyes of Love“, from the soundtrack of the film Ice Castles, which had not been included on any of Manchester’s albums up to that point.

Video: Melissa Manchester “You Should Hear How She Talks About You” (1982)


1. Don’t Cry Out Loud 3:49
2. You Should Hear How She Talks About You 4:15
3. Midnight Blue 3:55
4. “Just Too Many People” 3:38
5. Whenever I Call You Friend 4:44
6. “Come In from the Rain” 4:20
7. “Nice Girls” 3:40
8. “Just You and I” 4:06
9. My Boyfriend’s Back/Runaway (Medley)” 7:35
10. Through the Eyes of Love 4:10

Additional information

Weight 13 oz
Dimensions 13 × 13 × 1 in