Crosby, Stills & Nash 1969 (Cass Elliot backing vocals) CD-New $24.99


Out of stock

Categories: , , ,


Crosby, Stills & Nash is the debut studio album by the folk rock supergroup Crosby, Stills & Nash(CSN), released in 1969 by Atlantic Records. It is the only release by the band prior to adding Neil Young to their lineup. The album spawned two Top 40 singles, “Marrakesh Express” and “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes“, which peaked respectively at No. 28 the week of August 23, 1969.

The album was a very strong debut for the band, instantly lifting them to stardom. Along with the ByrdsSweetheart of the Rodeo and the Band‘s Music from Big Pink of the previous year, it helped initiate a sea change in popular music away from the ruling late-1960s aesthetic of bands playing blues-based rock music on loud guitars. Crosby, Stills & Nash presented a new wrinkle in building upon rock’s roots, using folk, blues, and even jazz without specifically sounding like mere duplication. Not only blending voices, the three meshed their differing strengths, David Crosby for social commentary and atmospheric mood pieces, Stephen Stills for his diverse musical skills and for folding folk and country elements subtly into complex rock structures, and Graham Nash for his radio-friendly pop melodies, to create an amalgam of broad appeal. The album features some of their best known songs, including “Helplessly Hoping“, “Long Time Gone”, “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes“, and “Wooden Ships“, a collaboration between Crosby and Stills as well as Paul Kantner of Jefferson Airplane.

Video: Crosby, Stills & Nash – “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes” 1969


1. Suite: Judy Blue Eyes Stephen Stills Stills 7:25
2. Marrakesh Express Graham Nash Nash 2:39
3. Guinnevere David Crosby Crosby with Nash 4:40
4. “You Don’t Have to Cry” Stephen Stills Stills with Crosby & Nash 2:45
5. “Pre-Road Downs” Graham Nash Nash 2:56
6. Wooden Ships David Crosby, Paul Kantner, Stephen Stills Crosby with Stills 5:29
7. Lady of the Island Graham Nash Nash 2:39
8. Helplessly Hoping Stephen Stills Stills with Crosby & Nash 2:41
9. “Long Time Gone” David Crosby Crosby with Stills 4:17
10. “49 Bye-Byes” Stephen Stills Stills 5:16

Crosby, Stills and Nash (CSN)

  • David Crosby – vocals, guitar on “Guinnevere; rhythm guitar on “Wooden Ships” and “Long Time Gone”
  • Stephen Stills – vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, percussion all tracks except “Guinnevere” and “Lady of the Island”
  • Graham Nash – vocals, rhythm guitar on “Marrakesh Express” and “Pre-Road Downs”; acoustic guitar on “Lady of the Island”

Additional personnel

Additional information

Weight 6 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in