Liza Minnelli: Finest-The Capitol Years Original Recording 2CD-New $54.99


2 in stock


Liza Minnelli recorded three LPs and a handful of singles for Capitol Records in the U.S. between 1963 and 1966, when she was between the ages of 17 and 20.

That seems like an odd balance, since Minnelli grew more assured as she went along in her teens and, if anything, There Is a Time is the most accomplished of the three LPs. It is also, however, different in style from the first two. Both Liza! Liza! and It Amazes Me were arranged and conducted by Peter Matz, who chose show music standards and worthy show music obscurities and gave them inventive new arrangements (just as he was doing at the same time for Barbra Streisand). There Is a Time, however, employing arranger/conductor Ray Ellis (another Streisand collaborator), was a concept album largely consisting of French songs written by the likes of Jacques Brel and Charles Aznavour. It makes sense to segregate the selections from that album and to put them at the end. But more songs from the disc would have strengthened the collection, as would a few of Minnelli’s singles-only tracks, such as the four songs she recorded for Capitol from her Tony-winning performance in Flora, the Red Menace. The Capitol Years features some excellent early recordings by Minnelli, notably her first version of “Maybe This Time,” a song that would become a signature number for her after she repeated it in the movie version of Cabaret in 1972. But as a single-CD compilation of her Capitol Records recordings, it could have been better selected and sequenced.

Digitally remastered. Disc 1: Tracks 1-12 from the 1964 album, LIZA! LIZA!; tracks 13-23 from the 1965 album, IT AMAZES ME. Disc 2: Tracks 1-11 from the 1966 album, THERE IS A TIME; tracks 12 and 13 are 1965 singles; tracks 14-17 are from the 1965 album, LIVE AT THE LONDON PALLADIUM (15 and 16 previously unreleased); tracks 18-20 from the 1977 soundtrack album, NEW YORK, NEW YORK.

Video: Liza Minnelli – Liza Minnelli “The Travelin’ Life” on The Ed Sullivan Show (1966)



01. It`s Just a Matter of Time

02. If I Were in Your Shoes

03. Meantime

04. Try to Remember [THE FANTASTICKS]

05. I’m All I’ve Got [BRAVO GIOVANNI]

06. Maybe Soon

07. Maybe This Time

08. Don’t Ever Leave Me [SWEET ADELINE]

09. The Travelin’ Life

10. Together Wherever We Go [GYPSY]

11. Blue Moon

12. I Knew Him When

13. Wait Till You See Him [BY JUPITER]

14. My Shining Hour [film, THE SKY’S THE LIMIT]

15. I Like the Likes of You [ZIEGFELD FOLLIES OF 1934]

16. It Amazes Me

17. Looking at You [WAKE UP AND DREAM]

18. I Never Have Seen Snow [HOUSE OF FLOWERS]

19. Plenty of Time

20. For Every Man There’s a Woman [film, CASBAH]

21. The Lorelei [PARDON MY ENGLISH]

22. Shouldn’t There Be Lightning?

23. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out


01. There Is a Time (Le Temps)

02. I (Who Have Nothing)

03. M’lord

04. Watch What Happens [film, LES PARAPLUIES DE CHERBOURG]

05. One of Those Songs

06. Days of the Waltz

07. Ay Marieke

08. Love at Last You Have Found Me

09. I’ll Build a Stairway to Paradise [GEORGE WHITE’S SCANDALS OF 1922]

10. See the Old Man

11. The Parisians [film, GIGI]

12. Imprevu

13. Did I Hurt Your Feelings?

14. Hello, Dolly! [HELLO, DOLLY!] — with Judy Garland

15. If I Were in Your Shoes

16. Maybe This Time

17. How Could You Believe Me When I Said I Loved You When You Know I’ve Been a Liar All My Life [film, ROYAL WEDDING]

18. The Man I Love [cut from LADY BE GOOD! and STRIKE UP THE BAND]

19. But the World Goes ‘Round [film, NEW YORK, NEW YORK]

20. Theme from New York, New York [film, NEW YORK, NEW YORK]

Additional information

Weight 9 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in