A Very Special Christmas 1987 (Eurythmics, Pretenders, Whitney Houston, Bruce Springsteen, U2, Madonna, Stevie Nicks) CD-New $22.99


2 in stock


A Very Special Christmas is the first in the A Very Special Christmas series of Christmas-themed compilation albums produced to benefit the Special Olympics, this has some of the biggest names in contemporary music, most covering seasonal favorites with mixed success. Outstanding tracks include the Pretenders “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” with Chrissie Hynde giving a touching performance. Run-D.M.C.‘s topical “Christmas in Hollis” relies heavily on sampling “Back Door Santa,” and may head you toward the dance floor. Alison Moyet‘s stately version of “The Coventry Carol” is beautifully haunting. Only the Material Girl, Madonna, embarrasses herself with an overly campy “Santa Baby.”

On January 16, 1998, the album was certified quadruple platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America for shipment of four million copies in the United States.

  • First pressings of the album contain a spoken introduction on The Pretenders’ “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”, presumably by a child. This introduction was later omitted, shortening the track by about 13 seconds.
  • Starting in 1992, “Back Door Santa” was replaced by another Bon Jovi song, “I Wish Everyday Could Be Like Christmas”, which originally appeared as a B-side on their single “Keep the Faith“.

Video: Winter Wonderland – Eurythmics (1987)


1.     Santa Claus Is Coming to Town – J. Fred Coots / Haven Gillespie
The Pointer Sisters    03:22
2.     Winter Wonderland – Felix Bernard / Dick Smith
Eurythmics    03:35
3.     Do You Hear What I Hear? – Gloria Shayne Baker / Noël Regney / Leon X A Schleinger
Whitney Houston    03:32
4.     Merry Christmas, Baby – Lou Baxter / Charles Brown / Johnny Moore
Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band    04:55
5.     Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Felix Bernard / Ralph Blane / Hugh Martin
Pretenders    04:28
6.     I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus – Tommie Connor
John Mellencamp    02:39
7.     Gabriel’s Message – Sting    02:13
8.     Christmas in Hollis – Darryl McDaniels / Jason Mizell / Joseph Simmons
Run-D.M.C.   02:59
9.     Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) – Jeff Barry / Ellie Greenwich / Phil Spector
U2    02:20
10.   Santa Baby – Madonna    02:34
11.   The Little Drummer Boy – Katherine K. Davis / Henry Onorati / Harry Simeone
Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band03:32
12.   Run Rudolph Run – Marvin Brodie / Johnny Marks     02:43
13.   I Wish Everyday Could Be Like Christmas – Jon Bon Jovi
Bon Jovi    04:28
14.  The Coventry Carol – Alison Moyet    03:24
15.   Silent Night – Franz Gruber / Joseph Mohr
Stevie Nicks    04:36

Additional information

Weight 9 oz
Dimensions 7 × 7 × 1 in